Besides struggling with pregnancy insomnia I've thankfully had a very easy pregnancy. Little weight gain, no gestational diabetes, picture perfect blood pressure and until lately no dreaded cankles. I have, unfortunately, struggled to find the right doctor. My first OB was super nice. She left the practice unexpectedly and no one knew where she moved on to. My second OB, same practice, was nice but found out that she was actually due 2 weeks before me. When I asked who would be taking care of my delivery when it was my turn the answer was "um... we're not sure." That wasn't going to cut it for me. So after talking to coworkers, friends and a doula I found Dr. Hayes. She's amazing. I didn't realize that I wasn't getting the level of care that I needed until I saw her. Our most recent visit was this week where we discovered some distressing news. Since baby doesn't like to pose for ultrasounds we've had several at the doctors office and at the hospital to get a good anatomy scan. All of his parts seem to be developing fine with the exception of a mass located in his belly. When the doctor said "and it looks like the cyst hasn't grown" I did a double take. Seriously if there were a soundtrack to my life that moment in time would resemble the part in a movie where the record comes to a screeching halt and the music stops. I said "what cyst?!" The doctor said "you mean you don't know about it?!" Yeah, no one at the old doctors office bothered to tell us that there was a concern. Evidently it was discovered back at the end of April or in May when I had an ultrasound at the hospital to complete an anatomy scan. Good news is that since April/May it looks like it hasn't grown. To which the doctor responded "it looks benign". Babies can get cancer when they're developing?! Mini freak out. Next course of action is to see a perinatologist in Denver. Best case scenario, and what I'm hoping for, is that it's a very defined gallbladder. They have no clue what the cyst is attached to or what it might be disturbing. For now baby seems fine. I get lots of kicks and wiggles. Hopefully all is well with little one and this is just a minor set back in what other wise is a very healthy baby.
Obsessively googling this topic last night I came across an interesting debate about how with the accessibility of technology and having more ultrasounds we're coming across more "issues" in pregnancy that wouldn't have been detected or considered a threat to begin with. In our case this mass never made an appearance in any of the ultrasounds at our doctors office. It wasn't until they weren't able to get a good look at the 4 chambers of the heart that they sent us to the hospital to have a more intense scan. It was there that they discovered the cyst. So had the baby coorperated in the doctors office we would never have discovered this latest bump in the road. Depending on the outcome of the appointment with the specialist I can't weigh in on how I feel about that debate but I thought it was interesting. One woman mentioned how her doctor freaked her out when they said baby had a hole in her heart. Only to go back a few weeks later to discover that it had closed on it's own. There is something to be said about letting nature take it's course.
Besides this medical hiccup we're doing well. Next weekend is the big yard push. The nursery is coming along. I'm making the babies bedding this weekend. I'll take pictures because I'm attempting a new technique that has potential to be really cool. :)
Off to pick up a father's day present for the husband. I'm getting him a baseball glove and a baby size glove for him to play catch with the kiddo when he's old enough. I think he's going to like it.
The Hackers
Friday, June 17, 2011
Thursday, June 2, 2011
Oh boy, oh boy!
It's a boy! We're both so excited. I have no clue how to raise a boy but I think Tom's got it under control. We have his mom for advice. My mom already informed me that she knows nothing about raising boys. Honestly the biggest part of having a boy that freaks me out is diaper changing. This week we're 29 weeks along. In the 3rd trimester. I'm starting to feel really big and roly poly. I need to take some pictures but I haven't been feeling my prettiest so I've been putting it off. I should do it now because I think it's only going to get worse. Tom keeps telling me that I've never looked lovelier (good man) but it's hard to feel that way when my ankles have morphed into kankles. :)
I'm completely obsessed with decorating the nursery. Tom keeps saying that my nesting is out of control. Which is probably true since we're also redoing the backyard. I keep eyeing other projects around the house. Is it weird that I want to paint the ceilings because they look shabby? Good thing IKEA opens up in Denver in July. I need a cost effective way to nest. My new recent obsession is pinterest.com. Love, love, love that website.
Besides baby our lives are pretty boring. We work, we come home, I nap on the couch, Tom video games and we go to bed. I'm headed to the open market on Saturday to search for some fun stuff for the nursery. I'm taking a fun nutrition class where we talk about good foods for baby, baby food and lotions/soaps good for baby. I've been having some doctor drama. My doctor unexpectedly left the practice. I was seeing another doctor on staff but she's due in July (I'm August 20th). When I asked them who I would be seeing they didn't really seem to know. So...I found a new office and feel much more confident in this doctor. Now I just have to break up with my old doctor. I feel bad. I don't do well separating from people. I didn't dump my dentist until my insurance changed and he wasn't covered. I work with a woman who is a doula so I think she's going to help us in the delivery room. I think it will be a good thing. So with all of the new doctor, nutrition fun, doula support, and up coming parenting classes I think I've got a better handle on this whole parenting thing. Still scares the you know what out of me but I don't feel so lost.
I'm off to bed. I wake up pretty much all of the time. This morning I was up 3 different times and finally at 3:30 couldn't get back to sleep until 6:30. So early bed for me. Night!
Cheers from the Hackers
I'm completely obsessed with decorating the nursery. Tom keeps saying that my nesting is out of control. Which is probably true since we're also redoing the backyard. I keep eyeing other projects around the house. Is it weird that I want to paint the ceilings because they look shabby? Good thing IKEA opens up in Denver in July. I need a cost effective way to nest. My new recent obsession is pinterest.com. Love, love, love that website.
Besides baby our lives are pretty boring. We work, we come home, I nap on the couch, Tom video games and we go to bed. I'm headed to the open market on Saturday to search for some fun stuff for the nursery. I'm taking a fun nutrition class where we talk about good foods for baby, baby food and lotions/soaps good for baby. I've been having some doctor drama. My doctor unexpectedly left the practice. I was seeing another doctor on staff but she's due in July (I'm August 20th). When I asked them who I would be seeing they didn't really seem to know. So...I found a new office and feel much more confident in this doctor. Now I just have to break up with my old doctor. I feel bad. I don't do well separating from people. I didn't dump my dentist until my insurance changed and he wasn't covered. I work with a woman who is a doula so I think she's going to help us in the delivery room. I think it will be a good thing. So with all of the new doctor, nutrition fun, doula support, and up coming parenting classes I think I've got a better handle on this whole parenting thing. Still scares the you know what out of me but I don't feel so lost.
I'm off to bed. I wake up pretty much all of the time. This morning I was up 3 different times and finally at 3:30 couldn't get back to sleep until 6:30. So early bed for me. Night!
Cheers from the Hackers
Thursday, April 14, 2011
Today is the day
We're finding out the sex of the baby at 11 today. I'll update with news as soon as I can. Go team pink!
Wednesday, March 23, 2011
Hello, It's been awhile
I really need to blog more often. A lot has happened in the last month and a half- ish. I’m approaching week 20 in my pregnancy. We’re super excited to find out the sex because I need to buy pink or blue (but mostly pink). Tom and I have a suspicion that it’s a girl but I’ve been having dreams about it being a boy. In my dream we named him Cooper. Cooper Hacker. Too many –ers but a cute name.
Probably the biggest event that happened was the passing of our sweet golden retriever Wednesday on February 28th, 2011. Long sad story shortened- she had heart problems since birth and went into heart failure over the weekend. The veterinarian couldn’t do much for her and she was in pain so we decided to put her down. It was a sad and hard process and the wounds are still really fresh even though it’s been several weeks. I have plans to dedicate a blog to the wonderfulness that was our silly princess poo with pictures and all but first I need to get through writing about her with out crying. I still have moments especially in my fragile emotional state that make my heart heavy. Last weekend I had a complete breakdown Saturday evening. I just really miss her. Tom and I have talked about getting another dog because we love having a dog around the house. If we were going to do it, it would have to be now. If we wait it’s going to have to be a year or two before we can cope with having a puppy and a baby. I think we’re going to wait. I miss our girl a little too much to think about seriously replacing her yet. She was part of of life for 12 years. She made us a little family and was there when we bought our first home. She moved with us to Colorado. She was there for all of our engagement and our wedding. I feel a little like a phase in our life is over. She represented the fun unattached (but attached to each other) part of our life. The party phase. The fun young phase. Now we’re working on the married with children phase- more serious but fun in it’s own right.
Probably the biggest event that happened was the passing of our sweet golden retriever Wednesday on February 28th, 2011. Long sad story shortened- she had heart problems since birth and went into heart failure over the weekend. The veterinarian couldn’t do much for her and she was in pain so we decided to put her down. It was a sad and hard process and the wounds are still really fresh even though it’s been several weeks. I have plans to dedicate a blog to the wonderfulness that was our silly princess poo with pictures and all but first I need to get through writing about her with out crying. I still have moments especially in my fragile emotional state that make my heart heavy. Last weekend I had a complete breakdown Saturday evening. I just really miss her. Tom and I have talked about getting another dog because we love having a dog around the house. If we were going to do it, it would have to be now. If we wait it’s going to have to be a year or two before we can cope with having a puppy and a baby. I think we’re going to wait. I miss our girl a little too much to think about seriously replacing her yet. She was part of of life for 12 years. She made us a little family and was there when we bought our first home. She moved with us to Colorado. She was there for all of our engagement and our wedding. I feel a little like a phase in our life is over. She represented the fun unattached (but attached to each other) part of our life. The party phase. The fun young phase. Now we’re working on the married with children phase- more serious but fun in it’s own right.
Bump update- I’m starting to feel very pregnant. My pants are tight and my food cravings are becoming more apparent. Nothing too specific but sometimes during the day I want weird things. Today at lunch all I could think about were olives. Black olives. I’ve never been a huge fan but I think I might have to buy some tonight and eat them on a sandwich with chicken salad, cheese and pickles. Sounds delicious.
Mom and Katie are coming up this weekend to help with operation baby. We're organizing the basement, cleaning the nursery, and painting the walls. (low voc paint so no worries) The husband has been a trouper lately. He's taken on a bigger role of keeping the house clean and keeping me fed and happy. I've discovered that a hungry pregnant Susie is a cranky pregnant Susie. That's not a good thing. My hormones are intense. Two weekends ago I came home to find a woman parked in our assigned spot. I waited for her to leave and she ignored me. I drove forward and backwards to get her attention and she ignored me. I honked my horn (just a little beep) and she ignored me. Hormone Susie took control and laid into that horn. The lady got out of her car and came to my window and started to yell at me for honking at her. I then yelled back that she was in an assigned spot and she shouldn't be parked there in the first place. She then responded with saying that I could have gotten out of the car to inform her in a nice manner to which I then informed her wasn't my job because the spots are clearly numbered there should be no reason for her to attempt to park there in the first place. Normal Susie would have parked elsewhere and grumbled about it all weekend. Evidently new hormonal Susie has no problem telling you how she sees it. Unfortunately I live as normal Susie most of the time so I've got some serious guilt associated with my outburst. This is why I don't yell at people- I tend to dwell long past the initial encounter. If the woman would come to my door tonight I would be the one apologizing for my inappropriate behavior. Tom's been the brunt of a few outburst involving mac and cheese and remote controls but I think that I've been fairly even-keeled.
Tom's bestman had been living with us for a while and he's moved out making room for baby. I'm excited for Brian to start his new bachelor pad life. I'm also excited for Tom and I to get a little alone time before the arrival of baby Hacker. Baby Hacker sounds completely inappropriate.
I love it. I've been looking for some entertaining evening crafts and think that I'm going to continue with my cross stich/embroidery love. I found this website: http://www.sublimestitching.com/ that has some really cute bib ideas. I'm thinking gnomes on bibs. Evidently you can never have too many bibs. I'm of the opinion that you can never have too many gnomes. Sounds like a perfect match.
So far so good on the pregnancy. I'll have to post pictures of the nursery progress. The color scheme is yellow, turquoise and pink for girl or red for boy. The wall paint is called Butter.
Sort of fitting given my recent obsession with food.
Signing off for now. Love from the Hacker.
PS. I swear I have thank you notes done. The dog's passing put me back but I'll get them out maybe not this weekend but definitely by the beginning of April.
Mom and Katie are coming up this weekend to help with operation baby. We're organizing the basement, cleaning the nursery, and painting the walls. (low voc paint so no worries) The husband has been a trouper lately. He's taken on a bigger role of keeping the house clean and keeping me fed and happy. I've discovered that a hungry pregnant Susie is a cranky pregnant Susie. That's not a good thing. My hormones are intense. Two weekends ago I came home to find a woman parked in our assigned spot. I waited for her to leave and she ignored me. I drove forward and backwards to get her attention and she ignored me. I honked my horn (just a little beep) and she ignored me. Hormone Susie took control and laid into that horn. The lady got out of her car and came to my window and started to yell at me for honking at her. I then yelled back that she was in an assigned spot and she shouldn't be parked there in the first place. She then responded with saying that I could have gotten out of the car to inform her in a nice manner to which I then informed her wasn't my job because the spots are clearly numbered there should be no reason for her to attempt to park there in the first place. Normal Susie would have parked elsewhere and grumbled about it all weekend. Evidently new hormonal Susie has no problem telling you how she sees it. Unfortunately I live as normal Susie most of the time so I've got some serious guilt associated with my outburst. This is why I don't yell at people- I tend to dwell long past the initial encounter. If the woman would come to my door tonight I would be the one apologizing for my inappropriate behavior. Tom's been the brunt of a few outburst involving mac and cheese and remote controls but I think that I've been fairly even-keeled.
Tom's bestman had been living with us for a while and he's moved out making room for baby. I'm excited for Brian to start his new bachelor pad life. I'm also excited for Tom and I to get a little alone time before the arrival of baby Hacker. Baby Hacker sounds completely inappropriate.
So far so good on the pregnancy. I'll have to post pictures of the nursery progress. The color scheme is yellow, turquoise and pink for girl or red for boy. The wall paint is called Butter.
Signing off for now. Love from the Hacker.
PS. I swear I have thank you notes done. The dog's passing put me back but I'll get them out maybe not this weekend but definitely by the beginning of April.
Friday, February 25, 2011
Team Pink vs Team Blue
I know that we're not supposed to be partial but I think Tom and I are divided on our hopes for a specific 'team'. We both want a healthy baby but I have the worldest cutest pink vanity that I have kept for 8 yrs just in case we had a little girl. Just sayin'.
I'm currently 15 weeks and can't wait to find out the sex. Hurry up time and pass so I can start buying pink or blue.
Our friends Nathan and Sarah gave us a copy of Beatles and Nirvana nursery lullabies. They're acoustic and perfect for a baby. I love them. I need to get some of those speakers for the belly to play the music for the baby. Tom and I haven't ventured into Babies-R-Us yet. To be honest I'm sort of afraid of the place. I'm have to admit that I'm starting to feel overwhelmed with all of the things I don't know and all of the things I need to buy. I'm trying to take it a week at a time for now.
My goal this weekend:
-get thank you notes in the mail! Seriously! It's been long enough and for that I apologize.
It's a good weekend to get thank you notes done because it's snowing up here in Fort Collins and I believe it's supposed to be a pretty yucky couple of days. I'm ready for the spring weather- bbqing and yard games (minus the drinking of course). I am craving beer. I think it's the time of year. I was walking around our little downtown last weekend after getting my hair did
I treated myself to some pink grapefruit gelato and it was yummo! Anyways the weather was so nice that I really wanted to sit on the Coopersmith's patio and drink some anchor steam beer. I might have to test out the world of non-alcoholic beers. Besides the beer I really haven't had any weird cravings. I do tend to gravitate towards all things citrus. I love the smells and tastes of oranges, lemons, and grapefruit.
Tom's doing well. The man is beaming all of the time like a proud papa. I swear you would think he was the one with the pregnancy glow
We're going bowling with his work people Sunday night. Hopefully it's not a late night event because last night I passed out on the couch at 8pm. Regardless I'm looking forward to getting out a little bit.
We're planning on taking a small babymoon in May. We're thinking Aspen, Steamboat, or Vail. I'm flexible on the options. Vail has my favorite spa at the Cascades Hotel. I have never been to Aspen but I've heard it's really cute. It's probably been 20 years since I was in Steamboat. We were thinking about going somewhere farther away like Seattle but I think a lengthy car ride with decreasing bladder capacity isn't a swell idea and I'm a bad flier with out my meds.
The husband will be home soon. I should go heat up his philly cheesesteak sandwich that I so lovingly ordered. I even thought to prepare i.e. order a side of fries.
Next week is doctors appointment at week 16. Maybe we'll have an inkling as to the sex of the baby. Fingers crossed. Team Pink!
Oh and we think we have agreed on a boy's name. We both like Ethan or at least we both like it this week.
Night!
Our friends Nathan and Sarah gave us a copy of Beatles and Nirvana nursery lullabies. They're acoustic and perfect for a baby. I love them. I need to get some of those speakers for the belly to play the music for the baby. Tom and I haven't ventured into Babies-R-Us yet. To be honest I'm sort of afraid of the place. I'm have to admit that I'm starting to feel overwhelmed with all of the things I don't know and all of the things I need to buy. I'm trying to take it a week at a time for now.
My goal this weekend:
-get thank you notes in the mail! Seriously! It's been long enough and for that I apologize.
It's a good weekend to get thank you notes done because it's snowing up here in Fort Collins and I believe it's supposed to be a pretty yucky couple of days. I'm ready for the spring weather- bbqing and yard games (minus the drinking of course). I am craving beer. I think it's the time of year. I was walking around our little downtown last weekend after getting my hair did
Tom's doing well. The man is beaming all of the time like a proud papa. I swear you would think he was the one with the pregnancy glow
We're planning on taking a small babymoon in May. We're thinking Aspen, Steamboat, or Vail. I'm flexible on the options. Vail has my favorite spa at the Cascades Hotel. I have never been to Aspen but I've heard it's really cute. It's probably been 20 years since I was in Steamboat. We were thinking about going somewhere farther away like Seattle but I think a lengthy car ride with decreasing bladder capacity isn't a swell idea and I'm a bad flier with out my meds.
The husband will be home soon. I should go heat up his philly cheesesteak sandwich that I so lovingly ordered. I even thought to prepare i.e. order a side of fries.
Next week is doctors appointment at week 16. Maybe we'll have an inkling as to the sex of the baby. Fingers crossed. Team Pink!
Oh and we think we have agreed on a boy's name. We both like Ethan or at least we both like it this week.
Night!
Saturday, February 12, 2011
First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes a baby in a baby carriage
Yes that's right...we're going to have a baby. We're both super excited. I'm currently 13 weeks and 3 days along. I'm happy to be entering my second trimester because the morning sickness has been brutal! I don't even think morning sickness is the right word- it's more like all day sickness. No amount of ginger ale and saltines would calm my stomach. Oh and FYI I never ever want to look at another saltine cracker again. My doctor took pity on me and prescribed some meds that would help me keep food down. Those pills were a lifesaver. The smells...oh my goodness the smells are intense. Last night I could smell Tom's turkey sandwich from 6 feet away. From the white bread to the mayo my nose broke down all of the scents. Besides the intense all day sickness, intense sense of smell, insomnia, and fatigue I have been feeling really good. I'm looking forward to the second trimester where I'll have more energy and the sickness will go away all together (fingers crossed).
The designer in me has started to concoct a nursery in my head. I'm thinking yellow (my favorite color) with accents of aqua and red (for a boy) or pink (for a girl). The theme is 'Good Day Sunshine'. Every nursery needs a little Beatles homage. I've started to buy test samples of paint and currently have 5 different yellows and 1 aqua on the wall and am completely confused. It's going to be a long color selection process. I want something soothing but not washed out. I also should take into account the low voc paints which limit my color range. So many choices... I'm going to wait until we know the sex to really go hung ho on the whole room.
Tom's very excited. He's always wanted to be a dad. I think he'll make a great father to our little one. I bought him a little Tampa Bay Bucs onesie as a "hey we're pregnant" gift. He loves it.
Besides this life changing news nothing else is really going on. I'm taking a few classes this semester but will have to put my masters on hold until after the baby's born. I hope to return to school but I really have no idea how intense this whole parenting thing is going to be. Honestly I can't remember the last time I held a baby or changed a diaper. Maybe I should look into taking a class. Anyways I have a feeling that I'm going to be a busy mommy with baby and work but I hope that school can fit in there somewhere.
I'm past my bedtime- 12:50 is late for me these days. I think I felt so awful during the 1st trimester that I couldn't sleep. Now that my body is adjusting to the hormones I'm feeling much better and I'm off to bed anywhere from 7pm-10pm. We're hardcore partiers in this house...not! I'm trying to bring back the '...not' joke. Borat inspired me.
The designer in me has started to concoct a nursery in my head. I'm thinking yellow (my favorite color) with accents of aqua and red (for a boy) or pink (for a girl). The theme is 'Good Day Sunshine'. Every nursery needs a little Beatles homage. I've started to buy test samples of paint and currently have 5 different yellows and 1 aqua on the wall and am completely confused. It's going to be a long color selection process. I want something soothing but not washed out. I also should take into account the low voc paints which limit my color range. So many choices... I'm going to wait until we know the sex to really go hung ho on the whole room.
Tom's very excited. He's always wanted to be a dad. I think he'll make a great father to our little one. I bought him a little Tampa Bay Bucs onesie as a "hey we're pregnant" gift. He loves it.
Besides this life changing news nothing else is really going on. I'm taking a few classes this semester but will have to put my masters on hold until after the baby's born. I hope to return to school but I really have no idea how intense this whole parenting thing is going to be. Honestly I can't remember the last time I held a baby or changed a diaper. Maybe I should look into taking a class. Anyways I have a feeling that I'm going to be a busy mommy with baby and work but I hope that school can fit in there somewhere.
I'm past my bedtime- 12:50 is late for me these days. I think I felt so awful during the 1st trimester that I couldn't sleep. Now that my body is adjusting to the hormones I'm feeling much better and I'm off to bed anywhere from 7pm-10pm. We're hardcore partiers in this house...not! I'm trying to bring back the '...not' joke. Borat inspired me.
Friday, February 11, 2011
A new year, a new name, a new life (sort of), a new surprise...
(from 1-17-11) 2011 started off a little shaky. The dog got into ALL of the fudge I made for christmas. I'm talking a full batch of semi-sweet, marshmallow cream, butter, sugar and nuts. Not good. We spent most of the night in the doggie ER and then went back again because she was having trouble walking and was shaking. Turns out she developed a heart arrythmia to go along with her already troubled heart. They also had to treat her for severe dehydration. So $1100 later we brought her home a little better but not 100%. Our poor dog. Then she developed a kidney infection and back we went for another visit to the vet. Most recently she's been having sneezing episodes and last night she had a stroke. I guess strokes aren't as damaging to dogs as they are to humans- they have a quicker recovery rate. She seems to be doing better today but I think it's a good idea for us to be grateful for everyday we have with her- I'm not sure how much longer her heart can take all of these medical problems.
I start my classes this week. I'm excited and scared. It's been a while since I've had homework. I'm looking forward to expanding my mind and learning new things.
I thought I had thank you notes ready to go out in the mail but I have to wait on them. Sorry. I also didn't get Christmas cards in the mail this year. I really have an excellent excuse but I can't elaborate on that right now...
Secrets! Fun! I promise to divulge more information in February. To be continued...
I start my classes this week. I'm excited and scared. It's been a while since I've had homework. I'm looking forward to expanding my mind and learning new things.
I thought I had thank you notes ready to go out in the mail but I have to wait on them. Sorry. I also didn't get Christmas cards in the mail this year. I really have an excellent excuse but I can't elaborate on that right now...
Secrets! Fun! I promise to divulge more information in February. To be continued...
Sunday, December 26, 2010
Happy Holidays
So...I didn't realize that the website was down. Whoops. You would think that Godaddy would call and tell me that I need to update my credit card information but I guess not. So 2 weeks and 3 phone calls later we're up and running again in time for the holidays.
Christmas was very nice. Tom and I spent Christmas Eve with my family at my grandparents house in Louisville. Louisville has grown a lot through out the years but I still enjoy driving down the historic main street to look at the lights. (In case you didn't know I grew up in Louisville.) That night Tom and I came home and opened our gifts to each other. He bought me a gorg necklace from my favorite jewelry designer Zoe Chicco. It's a lightning bolt and I think it looks a little bit like the HP scar. I'm a dork. We opened Tom's family's gifts- great stuff. Christmas Day we drove to Parker to open gifts from my parents. It was a nice day spent snacking, present opening, reading (or in Tom's case video gaming) and an awesome dinner prepared by my mother. I say it was a very nice Christmas. Good times. Next holiday on the docket- New Years Eve. We decided against the loft rental because it seems that Tom is working until 9pm that evening. Bummer! But as long as he's home for the countdown I'm good. I think we'll be ordering Chinese food and watching the ball drop from the couch. I have to watch 200 Cigarettes- my all time favorite New Years movie. Is anyone else boycotting the New Years MTV special? I refuse to see Snooki get dropped in the New Years ball. I find this whole New Jersey obsession rather obnoxious. What happened to intelligent MTV programming? Real World was a forum to discuss taboo topics and to push the boundaries. Now they feature groups of adolescents get trashed, talk smack, and get in fights. Maybe I'm just getting old. Last week Tom and I had a debate about leggings. I say they're like pants. Tom says they're like tights and need to be worn under things. No we weren't discussing my outfit but rather another woman who had decided to wear leggings with a t-shirt. It's kind of scary when you have those "mom moments". When I say "mom moments" I am talking about that moment that you realize that you sound exactly like your mother (or father).
I hate to add my holiday well wishes to the end of a random rant but I'm out of interesting news about the Hackers. So from us to you Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! Everyone be safe and warm.
Love
Susie and Tom
Christmas was very nice. Tom and I spent Christmas Eve with my family at my grandparents house in Louisville. Louisville has grown a lot through out the years but I still enjoy driving down the historic main street to look at the lights. (In case you didn't know I grew up in Louisville.) That night Tom and I came home and opened our gifts to each other. He bought me a gorg necklace from my favorite jewelry designer Zoe Chicco. It's a lightning bolt and I think it looks a little bit like the HP scar. I'm a dork. We opened Tom's family's gifts- great stuff. Christmas Day we drove to Parker to open gifts from my parents. It was a nice day spent snacking, present opening, reading (or in Tom's case video gaming) and an awesome dinner prepared by my mother. I say it was a very nice Christmas. Good times. Next holiday on the docket- New Years Eve. We decided against the loft rental because it seems that Tom is working until 9pm that evening. Bummer! But as long as he's home for the countdown I'm good. I think we'll be ordering Chinese food and watching the ball drop from the couch. I have to watch 200 Cigarettes- my all time favorite New Years movie. Is anyone else boycotting the New Years MTV special? I refuse to see Snooki get dropped in the New Years ball. I find this whole New Jersey obsession rather obnoxious. What happened to intelligent MTV programming? Real World was a forum to discuss taboo topics and to push the boundaries. Now they feature groups of adolescents get trashed, talk smack, and get in fights. Maybe I'm just getting old. Last week Tom and I had a debate about leggings. I say they're like pants. Tom says they're like tights and need to be worn under things. No we weren't discussing my outfit but rather another woman who had decided to wear leggings with a t-shirt. It's kind of scary when you have those "mom moments". When I say "mom moments" I am talking about that moment that you realize that you sound exactly like your mother (or father).
I hate to add my holiday well wishes to the end of a random rant but I'm out of interesting news about the Hackers. So from us to you Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! Everyone be safe and warm.
Love
Susie and Tom
Saturday, November 27, 2010
Married Life
Married life is good. After 14 years together (2 months of those officially married) not much has changed. It is fun to call Tom my husband and I get a big grin when he calls me his wife.
Thanksgiving has past and I am so thankful for my family and friends. My mom and grandmother are amazing cooks! Now it's time to bring on the Christmas cheer. I should be setting up the Christmas tree and pulling out all of the decorations but I'm having a hard time getting into the decorating mood. We're moving in January so I keep thinking about all of the things I'm going to have to pack and put away. Normally our house looks like Christmas exploded all over but I think I'm going to take it easy- just set up the tree and get out the stockings. Remember tree flocking?! They don't make that stuff anymore. I think it was highly flammible but it was so pretty. I'm toying with the idea of turning our christmas tree upside down. We've had it for 6 years and it's on it's last leg so I think it's time to give it one last hurah. Oh or maybe glitter. I have a serious glitter addiction (the sparkly stuff not Mariah Carey's movie) I wonder if I could glitter a Christmas tree? That might be a the biggest mess to clean up and deal with but think of the sparkle!
Tomorrow my mom and sister are coming up for downtown FoCo holiday shopping. I love our little main street here in Fort Collins. Cute little shops, Christmas lights and coffee with the General and Katie. Good times.
Post wedding news: I have completed a book on blurb that has some of our favorite wedding pictures. Find it here: WEDDING BOOK
That was fun! I used blurb and found it to be easy, only sometimes incredibly frustrating and creative. Katie and I want to compile our favorite family recipes and make a book. Maybe we'll do that next year for our gifts. I have made progress on the thank you notes. I apologize for taking forever to get them out (according to the General)

I am working on getting all of the wedding pics on the website. I also have them posted to Photobucket.com I will post the link once they're organized. Side note: if you check out the photos on the website make sure to look at the ones taken with props in our photobooth. The props were designed by a woman on Etsy (mariodesigns) and they have been recently featured in InStyle magazine!
December is going to be a busy month for us. My sister's birthday is on the 10th and my mom's is the 21st. We have company holiday parties to attend and friends parties to go to. Tom and I always try to see a play or go to the Nutcracker. Last year we went to the Fort Collins Nutcracker. It was .... local. It wasn't that bad- I'm just used to seeing the big production in Denver which is usually flawless. The year before we went to "White Christmas" play in Denver which was amazing! I highly recommend seeing the Broadway production if it comes through your town. Maybe we'll try the Christmas Carol? We also have to start packing and find a new place. Ugh I hate packing. At least packing will give us an opportunity to purge all of the junk that we have accumulated in the past 4 years. I always try to find the silver lining
We currently don't have any New Years plans but we were thinking about renting a loft in Denver for the night. The place that we stayed at after the wedding was amazing! I'm looking forward to 2011! Our friends are getting married and I'm starting school. Change is scary but it can also be exciting.
Love from the Hackers!
Cheers!
Update: Here's link to wedding pics on Photobucket
For honeymoon pics see: Photobucket Paris , Photobucket London , Photobucket Amsterdam
Thanksgiving has past and I am so thankful for my family and friends. My mom and grandmother are amazing cooks! Now it's time to bring on the Christmas cheer. I should be setting up the Christmas tree and pulling out all of the decorations but I'm having a hard time getting into the decorating mood. We're moving in January so I keep thinking about all of the things I'm going to have to pack and put away. Normally our house looks like Christmas exploded all over but I think I'm going to take it easy- just set up the tree and get out the stockings. Remember tree flocking?! They don't make that stuff anymore. I think it was highly flammible but it was so pretty. I'm toying with the idea of turning our christmas tree upside down. We've had it for 6 years and it's on it's last leg so I think it's time to give it one last hurah. Oh or maybe glitter. I have a serious glitter addiction (the sparkly stuff not Mariah Carey's movie) I wonder if I could glitter a Christmas tree? That might be a the biggest mess to clean up and deal with but think of the sparkle!
Tomorrow my mom and sister are coming up for downtown FoCo holiday shopping. I love our little main street here in Fort Collins. Cute little shops, Christmas lights and coffee with the General and Katie. Good times.
Post wedding news: I have completed a book on blurb that has some of our favorite wedding pictures. Find it here: WEDDING BOOK
That was fun! I used blurb and found it to be easy, only sometimes incredibly frustrating and creative. Katie and I want to compile our favorite family recipes and make a book. Maybe we'll do that next year for our gifts. I have made progress on the thank you notes. I apologize for taking forever to get them out (according to the General)
I am working on getting all of the wedding pics on the website. I also have them posted to Photobucket.com I will post the link once they're organized. Side note: if you check out the photos on the website make sure to look at the ones taken with props in our photobooth. The props were designed by a woman on Etsy (mariodesigns) and they have been recently featured in InStyle magazine!
December is going to be a busy month for us. My sister's birthday is on the 10th and my mom's is the 21st. We have company holiday parties to attend and friends parties to go to. Tom and I always try to see a play or go to the Nutcracker. Last year we went to the Fort Collins Nutcracker. It was .... local. It wasn't that bad- I'm just used to seeing the big production in Denver which is usually flawless. The year before we went to "White Christmas" play in Denver which was amazing! I highly recommend seeing the Broadway production if it comes through your town. Maybe we'll try the Christmas Carol? We also have to start packing and find a new place. Ugh I hate packing. At least packing will give us an opportunity to purge all of the junk that we have accumulated in the past 4 years. I always try to find the silver lining
Love from the Hackers!
Cheers!
Update: Here's link to wedding pics on Photobucket
For honeymoon pics see: Photobucket Paris , Photobucket London , Photobucket Amsterdam
Saturday, November 13, 2010
Wedding and Honeymoon Blur
It all flew by so quickly. The day of the wedding I remember getting up, showering, getting my hair and nails done and then driving to the loft. The loft was gorgeous! I was completely amazed at the find. Huge 2 bedroom, living room, kitchen and most importantly a roof top access/patio. I remember getting ready with mom and Katie in the master bathroom. That was fun girl time of checking makeup, borrowing brushes and getting opinions. I didn't realize how long that whole process would take and had to scramble to get into my dress and out to the car to get to the Oxford for pictures. Passing the hotel I see Tom and all of our friends standing outside of the entrance. The car dropped me off at the other side so I walked through the hotel to meet them outside. That was embarrassing and exciting. Seeing Tom in his suit looking all dapper was great. I can't remember his face because I was probably looking down- being embarrassed by everyone looking at us. Tons of pictures in the cruise room, in the alley behind the hotel, in front of the hotel, and in the bar. Eventually I walked into the Carriage House (room of our wedding ceremony and reception) It was gorgeous. I seriously need to expand my vocabulary- gorgeous is the only word that I have to describe it. I was worried that the vision in my head wouldn't meet the reality but it was exceeded. The lights, draping, flowers and the T & S on the gate were perfect. I made my way back to the hotel and to the room that the family was waiting in (I like to think of it as the war room. Fit for a General
). My mom and sister eventually made their way to the wedding room. It was just my dad and I- talking about Magic Jack. Erin came to find us and we took the hotel car to the back of the hotel and waited for her to open the door so I could walk down the aisle. I remember handing dad my bouquet (which he was supposed to give back before we started down the aisle) but I think nerves got the better of us. We bolted down that aisle (him holding my bouquet- such a pretty father of the bride) where Tom and I were married by Herby the Love Judge. I don't remember much of the ceremony. I do remember reciting my vows and jumping the gun on the "I do and I will" The judge liked to pause for dramatic emphasis and I didn't want Tom to think I was second guessing my decision so I jumped the gun. Oh well I figure it's better to be over zealous that appear distracted. Before we knew it we were married. 3 kisses to seal the deal and we were back down the aisle. I know Alex our guitarist was there and did a great job but I don't remember hearing the music at all. License signing, high fives all around and we joined the guests for group photo at Union Station. That was fun and gave us the perfect opportunity to get everyone out of the rooms so they can set up. We rented pedicabs for the grandparents - which was awesome btw. Tom and I had our own and Julia, the photographer, got some shots of us as we made our way down the street. Back at the Oxford our guests went up to the mezzanine for cocktails and appetizers. We did family photos out on Wazee. The families made their way into cocktail hour and Tom and I hit the cruise room. We were rock stars. We walked into the bar to applause, free drinks, high fives and congratulations. Good times. I'm definitely the wall flower but my rockstar husband was enjoying his time in the spot light. Erin came and got us and we did our formal introduction- more embarrassing for me and spot light for Tom. That man was born for the stage. I don't remember much of dinner except that it was AWESOME! Food was delicious- everyone said it was the best wedding food they had ever had. Maybe that was just lip service but I think it was tres bonne! First dance to Banana Pancakes (again wall flower Susie is embarrassed and Rockstar Tom is loving life) We totally should have practiced. He kept telling me we needed to work on our groove but there just wasn't time. Oh well. We high school swayed our way through that song (singing to each other).
Then my dance with my dad (my mom insisted) it was really sweet. We danced to Frank Sinatra "The Way You Look Tonight" We mostly worked our way in a circle around the dance floor- glimpsing mom crying ever so often in the turn. Then Tom and his mom danced to Steve Wonder and Dionne Warwick "That's What Friends are For" She was crying and laughing and crying. It was really sweet. Cake cutting, cupcake eating, and table rounds for thanks and saying hi. Tom was forever the rockstar- bopping from one table to the next- being a social butterfly. The only time I remember seeing him eat was when he was eating his steak. Somehow whenever they clinked their glasses for us to kiss he was there. The man says he can't hear (too many punk rock shows) but when I needed a groom to kiss he'd coming barreling down the hall or the stairs. Good husband.
Dancing was a hit and miss. It was hot in the room but the ladies still like to dance so we would so often hit the dance floor and get our groove on. Mostly people made their way upstairs to the bar. The photobooth was a huge success right as the poor guy was about the leave we went up to take pictures and EVERYONE came upstairs. Such a nice guy from Yellowpaddle Photography. I can't wait to see all of those pics. A few "special bride" drinks (St Germaine cocktail) and the night starts to get more fuzzy. I remember that we eventually made our way back to the loft. Everyone was out on the patio having a good time. Brian C and Rita were hilarious! Oh what entertainment we had that night. Big group photo on the bed. And I passed out from exhaustion (and drink) way too early around what I think was 1-ish am. We woke up around 10- feeling giddy. It was the first good sleep I think I had had for the two weeks prior to the wedding. The stress of the trip/wedding/planning and getting everyone together had finally come to a close and we were married. Breakfast at Dixons with the friends Bryan Hartle, Emily, Katie and Brian Davey. First breakfast as a married couple. Reminiscing on everything, bloody marys and pancakes (I actually don't remember what I ate). More good times. And we're married 
This is where we goofed. We decided to save money and not rent a hotel room but take a 9 hour bus ride to Paris over night. Oh man was that a mistake. Stuffy hot bus full of Parisians (no one spoke English) or wanted to let us know they could. It was uncomfortable and smelly. There was no sleeping. I managed to doze off about an hour into our trip only to be woken by the bus driver saying that we must get out our passports and exit the bus with our luggage. We all piled off the bus and were searched for a half an hour. This is both a good and bad thing- great for extra security but I was cranky and didn't really feel like going through this exercise. Again no English so I'm trying to franglaise my way through this situation. The 3 Brits on the bus were looking to me to explain it all to them. Holy daunting task. The one British woman said she had medical supplies in her backpack. I had no way to explain that situation to the French guards so they made their way into their own line and made it through fine on their own. Phew- that might have been tricky. Oh one good thing about London- we were mistaken for locals by a very lost German woman. Evidently we're not too American for England
Our Paris trip was becoming le bummer quickly. Tom's cold made it's attack on my immune system and I was sick shortly after him. This cold put us out of commission for the majority of our trip in Paris. We made it to the Eiffel Tower and the Louvre. The Eiffel Tower was a happy accident. We decided to venture out of our sick den for the day and get some fresh air and exercise. We started walking down the Boulevard des Invalides and saw that tip of the Tower poking out in the horizon. Tom was amazing at directions in Paris and guided us there. We turned the corner on to the Parc du Champs de Mars and there it was bigger than life the Eiffel freaking Tower. I actually got tears in my eyes. That was a moment I will never forget. At that exact moment, paused on the street taking in our find, we were accosted by a gypsy. Jacque warned us about the homeless people that they call "gypsies". Trying to be funny I told Jacque not to worry we have Hippies back home. The joke was returned with blank stares. The gypsy "picked" a ring up from off the ground and proceeded to bargain with Tom on it's value. He said something to the effect of it being a token of love and that we should give him money for his "gift" to us. Two euros later we finally got away from this man with a "gold" ring that I'm pretty sure is brass. I later read in Rick Steves Paris book that this is a common scam in tourist spots. We wandered the park, took pictures and marveled at the Tower of awesomeness. The terror alerts had us a little wary. I don't know if you're aware but there were tons of warnings for American tourists in France and England right at the time of our trip. Men with Famas guns were patrolling the area around the tower which was slightly assuring and scary at the same time. We wandered back to the tower at night so we could see it sparkle and were again inundated by gypsies trying to sell flowers and goodness knows what else. Oh and the rats by the Eiffel Tower at night were gianormous. Our intention was to catch a twilight boat tour of the seine but we missed them. Our time in Paris was pretty low key. We cooked in our tiny room and went to cafes for coffee. We walked everywhere and were blown away by the beauty of the city. My favorite time of day in Paris was around 8 am. The light was rosy pink and everything was quiet and beautiful. Our final day in Paris we went to the Louvre with intentions of seeing the Notre Dame afterwards but half way through the museum, after the Mona Lisa, we both starting feeling sick again. We managed to get back to the apartment and slept for the rest of the day. I enjoyed Paris but we need to go back to see all of the sights that we missed. Another trip to Paris...twist my arm...
We had intended on driving through the Burgundy region of France and then over to the Normandy Beaches but this cold seriously put a damper on our plans. The thought of navigating unfamiliar highways in an unfamiliar country while sick and going from hotel to hotel was too much for us. We ended up canceling the rest of our France trip and took the train from Paris to Amsterdam. We arrived in Amsterdam in the afternoon on a Friday and the central area was ready to party. Still feeling sick we wandered the canal streets trying to find our hotel. I found this hotel online and remember the listings saying that it was a random location- no sign just a hand written note that said to ring the buzzer. We finally found it sandwiched between the Marijuana Museum and a storefront displaying the *ahem* ladys of the night and their wares. Watching a woman flat iron her hair while topless and negotiating her price was an interesting sight. The room was gianormous compared to our Paris apartment and actually had a shower that I could stand up in. That night we went out into the crowds to find dinner. In central Amsterdam all we could find were pizza and chinese food restaurants. The food was kind of similar but different enough for it to be slightly weird. (like pizza with salami instead of pepperoni) We were not in partying condition so back to the room to try to kick this wicked European bug. Since our stay in the Red Light District was only a night we had to navigate our way to the Plantage area. It's east of the central Red Light area and is residential and quiet- complete 180 to our first night stay in Amsterdam. We got lost on our way to the new place and some nice local stopped while we were staring at the maps with what must have been the worlds most confused faces. He said we looked lost and helped us get back on the right street. Such a nice man! Everyone we met in Amsterdam was really nice. Hotel Alfa was quaint. We were on the 4th floor and the elevator was the tiniest I've ever seen. It took 5 minutes to climb the 4 flights (or at least it felt that way) and you could hear people in their rooms on your ride up. We explored the local area, found a laundry mat and Tom made friends with a guy from Argentina. Polpaulo. He was going to school there. Tom makes friends with everyone and anyone where ever we go. We found a bar that was playing the NFL games so we went out to the bars and met some transplants. That was fun! Tom made more friends and was convinced, by the transplants, that we could easily move to Amsterdam. Our final four days in Amsterdam we stayed in a houseboat. That was the best time! I felt like I was on a boat for a week afterwards but it was worth it. We had such a great time in Amsterdam (once the cold started to lift). We saw Rembrandt house, Rembrandt Museum, Heineken Museum, Red Light District, boat tour, Ajax game, EURO cup qualifier at the bars with locals and met some interesting people. We didn't know that Holland was playing Sweden in a EURO qualifier until we started seeing all of these Sweds all over the place. Boy are those people tall and big! Three of them tried to pick a fight when we were watching the NFL games at the bar. They said football was a "sissy sport". (Of course they were staunch rugby fans) Silly drunken Sweds. We went to Rembrandt square to see all of the Holland supports out there in their day glow orange before the match. Cafe Monaco was the place to be. Huge groups of people singing and chanting in circles. A nice loud chorus of "Sex on Fire" sung in dutch by a group of drunken Holland fans was awesome! AJAX game was great! It was such a good time! Even thought we were sick it was still amazing. We can't wait to go back and have other adventures!
Now we're married and back to normal life. I got my application in to CU Denver for the masters program and am waiting to hear on the status. Fingers crossed I'm accepted. Tom thinks he might go to the store in Westminster which would be funny because it's in the same parking lot that Bennigans used to be in. When we moved to Colorado in 2002 we lived in Westminster and Bennigans was Tom's first job here. It would be kind of like completing the circle. So we planning on moving in January. I'm excited and apprehensive. Change is always scary but we're up for the challenge.
Until next time...love from the Hackers
Monday, September 27, 2010
5, 4, 3, 2, 1 .....
It's so close! I'm ready, Tom's ready, are you ready? It's gonna be a fun night. My parents have been phenomenal. My sister has literally been a life saver because I don't think that I would have made it out of this planning alive without her. My lack of sleep/stress level is probably a 7 out of 10 and without Katie it would definitely be a 15. While I'm gushing I have to say that she planned the BEST bridal shower. Cute glittery keys that had tags for people to write the "key to happiness". The scrap booking was really fun- we took pictures and she brought a mini printer so we could print them out and make a page. The food was great and the drinks were amazing. The strawberry cake is probably my all time new favorite! (Strawberry Champagne from a bakery in Parker.) I'll have to look up the name because they definitely deserve a shout out. Thanks to everyone for their generous gifts! Thank you notes are on my list I promise!
The following Friday my coworkers threw me a bridal shower. Meghan Molin did a great job coordinating it all. Thanks to Meghan and all of her helpers! The ladies took me out for pizza and beer- my favorite meal! Ahh... Old C's your pizza and beer is so delicious. Everyone was so generous. I saw that you can mail things from the Eiffel Tower and it gets a special stamp. I think I'm going to have to mail a big joint "thank you" to everyone from the Eiffel Tower.
Tom's mom came out for the shower which was really sweet of her. She went with me to my dress fitting and we hit up the mall for a marathon mother of the groom shopping trip. His family is headed here this week- should be in house on Tuesday! The rehearsal and the dinner is Wednesday night. Thursday I have beauty appointments and then it's Friday, the BIG day.
The dog has a kidney infection which was unexpected but I think she'll be okay. She's got meds and I hope everything is kosher with her now. Every time we go out of town she seems to have an issue. I hope we have circumvented any sort of issue and she'll be fine, just fine while we are in Europe. Wednesday Fu'Amakeke is now worked into the wedding- you'll have to wait and see
She's going to be a part of dinner- not in the way that you're thinking- we don't dig on dog in our family.
I finished place cards this weekend. That was a bigger process that I anticipated. We picked up my band and Tom's new band. (original was too large) I had my final fitting and whoops- the dress is still too big. I think wedding stress has caused me to close weight and now I'm going to have to be sewn into the dress. But the double embroidered French lace jacket is done and with the dress - OMG it's gorgeous! My veil and jewelry are all picked out and good to go. I have a billion returns to do this week- things that didn't work with the dress or material for the place cards
I have limited days to get the trip information together, do laundry, pick out outfits, pack and put movies on the new netbook. I still have to finish the grad school portfolio and essay. Positive thinking- I am going to get everything done!
Signing off with 5 days until the wedding!
ps- we picked up the marriage license 
Tuesday, August 31, 2010
Woohoo 1 Month until the wedding
One month until the wedding, one month until the wedding, one month until the wedding, one month until the wedding... Yay! I can't tell if my joy is from the idea of us finally becoming husband and wife or getting this wedding over with and on to Europe! Probably a combination of both. I'm watching Julie and Julia on tv and it's making me even more excited for our trip. The food...omg the food! Granted I have an excellent cold right now so boeuf bourguignon sounds as appealing as a mud pie but my brain remembers the flavor and thinks that one day my tongue and stomach won't be so opposed.
GRILLED CHICKEN BREAST OSCAR (can be served without crab for those with allergies)
Free Range Chicken Breast Topped with Sautéed Dungeness crab and Fresh
Asparagus, Finished with Charon Sauce, Potato Gratin, Seasonal Fresh Vegetables
or
GRILLED PRIME TOP SIRLOIN (I think that's the one Tom liked- will have to double check)
Pan Seared 8 oz. Top Sirloin Served with Forest Mushroom Hunters Sauce
and Served with Rosti Potatoes and Seasonal Vegetables
or
STUFFED ATLANTIC SALMON (the salmon was amazing!)
With Alaskan Dungeness Crabmeat, Oregon Bay Shrimp,
French Brie and Fresh Dill Topped with Beurre Blanc
Served with Lemon Infused Rice Pilaf and Fresh Seasonal Vegetables
Ha! Sorry the movie I have been watching hit this point where the main character is trying to kill lobsters. For anyone who hasn't seen the movie- Julie and Julia - Julie is trying to finish every recipe in the Julia Child Mastering the Art of French Cooking within a year- she's writing a blog about her experience. The lobster scene reminds me of when Nana and Grandpa Leo would come to visit- they would bring us lobster from bean town. Katie and I would race them across the kitchen floor before we boiled them alive and ate them. Sounds perfectly savage but so much fun and delicious.
Tom and I are planning on taking a cooking class while we are in Paris. It sounds like a great way to take home a reminder of our travels. I have no clue what we will be cooking but I hope it's something quitessentially french. According to the website we meet at the Metro, walk through the french outdoor market to collect our ingredients, and then back to the studio for cooking lessons. All followed up by a meal to enjoy the fruits of our labor. Yum-o!
Wedding plans are coming along. Nothing much new besides my cold. I've been checking the mail everyday and find at least one RSVP in there. It's been lots of fun! Then I get to input all of the names and the dinner choices into my excel spreadsheet- that's fun too! I'm such a dork about spreadsheets- I love them. So if you haven't sent in your RSVP please send it back. You have 10 more days until I start to harass you.
I think we finalized the menu:
OXFORD CAESAR SALAD
Hearts of Romain with Grana Padano Cheese Crisp and Julienne of Sun-dired Tomato Tossed with creamy parmesan dressing
Your choice of:GRILLED CHICKEN BREAST OSCAR (can be served without crab for those with allergies)
Free Range Chicken Breast Topped with Sautéed Dungeness crab and Fresh
Asparagus, Finished with Charon Sauce, Potato Gratin, Seasonal Fresh Vegetables
or
GRILLED PRIME TOP SIRLOIN (I think that's the one Tom liked- will have to double check)
Pan Seared 8 oz. Top Sirloin Served with Forest Mushroom Hunters Sauce
and Served with Rosti Potatoes and Seasonal Vegetables
or
STUFFED ATLANTIC SALMON (the salmon was amazing!)
With Alaskan Dungeness Crabmeat, Oregon Bay Shrimp,
French Brie and Fresh Dill Topped with Beurre Blanc
Served with Lemon Infused Rice Pilaf and Fresh Seasonal Vegetables
There will be a good variety of appetizers during the cocktail hour. The cupcakes...OMG... so good. They will be provided by C'est Chic (http://www.cestchiccupcakes.com/)
Cupcake Flavors:
Tahitian Vanilla
New Orleans Lemon
White Wedding
Peanut Butter Cup
Chocolate Fudge
In non-wedding news I have been slacking on my grad school portfolio. According to my spreadsheet (I told you I loved them) I should be finished with the portfolio by now and almost completely submitted to CU Denver. Instead I still need to request letters of recommendation and all of my transcripts. Ugh! That's my goal for over the long weekend- get the portfolio out the door along with my application. Katie, my sister, is coming up to the Fort for the long weekend. We're going to be cleaning, cleaning, cleaning. So now my weekend will be cleaning and portfolio. Fun times.
Wishing everyone a fun and happy long weekend.
Until next time this is Susie signing off...in search of cold medicine...preferably some of the good stuff that makes me sleepy 
Sunday, August 22, 2010
One big check mark on the never ending "to do" list: Invitations are done and done
Wedding invitations are out the door. Technically they went out last week but this is the first time I have had the opportunity to brag about this feat. Holy moses we didn't have a lot to assemble but without Katie and Mom that would have taken me all weekend. Thanks guys for the assistance! It feels like a big accomplishment. Now I check the mail EVERYDAY for RSVP cards. Fun times!
Besides the invitations we are just finalizing details. We picked up Tom's ring and he won't stop wearing it around the house.
Cute man! Katie has been on top of it with rentals. I'm talking spread sheets, price itemization and a verbal pro/con break down of each location. That was great! Her maid of honor dress is at the bridal salon ready for pick up! Mine should be following hers shortly. We have started suit shopping for Tom. I have to remember to not be so opinionated in this process. He's been a sport about me taking over most details of the wedding. The suit and the music are his domain. He's got good taste- I'm sure he'll pick out an excellent suit. Mom and Katie found some gorgeous french lace online for my shrug/jacket-thing. It's double embroidered Alencon lace and it's to die for. I'm meeting the seamstress on Saturday. Now it's just getting all of the details together- that is in between the trips to Sargent. Boy the Movie Manor and I have become good friends. It is a Best Western hotel on a drive in theater lot in Monte Vista CO. You can watch the movie from your window and turn on the speaker in your room to pick up the sound. If anyone drives through Alamosa area- it's a great place to take the kiddos.
Besides the wedding we are trying to fit in some "normal" activities. Next Sunday we are having everyone over for the draft. It's fantasy football time! Stoked! Time for team Red Devils to dominate! The following weekend Katie's coming up to help us with cleaning etc... I have to get out in the backyard to battle the weeds. Seriously they have been brutal this year!
Well I need to sign off because I'm off bright and early tomorrow to guess where... you got it...Sargent Schools. Luckily we are wrapping up the renovation on the elementary school this week. Teachers will be in rooms tomorrow. Time for punch list. It's my very first punch list- should be a good learning experience. Cheers!
ps. 40 days to the wedding
Our lovely invitations

RSVP postcard

All assembled invitations bundled
and ready to mail out. Also featured
milk glass for the centerpieces.
The envelope and invitation were brought to fruition by Alli at Birddog Press. The calligraphy was completed by Kelle at Designs Girl. The RSVP cards are vintage postcards of Denver and surrounding Colorado areas that I have been collecting for the past year. I'm in love with the invitation and envelopes! I've already received multiple compliments on Kelle's fabulous calligraphy design- which makes me regret not having her write up our married name in her fancy hand. RSVP accepts/regrets boxes are a big hit- I've already received a cheeky "accepts with regret"
Besides the invitations we are just finalizing details. We picked up Tom's ring and he won't stop wearing it around the house.
Besides the wedding we are trying to fit in some "normal" activities. Next Sunday we are having everyone over for the draft. It's fantasy football time! Stoked! Time for team Red Devils to dominate! The following weekend Katie's coming up to help us with cleaning etc... I have to get out in the backyard to battle the weeds. Seriously they have been brutal this year!
Well I need to sign off because I'm off bright and early tomorrow to guess where... you got it...Sargent Schools. Luckily we are wrapping up the renovation on the elementary school this week. Teachers will be in rooms tomorrow. Time for punch list. It's my very first punch list- should be a good learning experience. Cheers!
ps. 40 days to the wedding
RSVP postcard
All assembled invitations bundled
and ready to mail out. Also featured
milk glass for the centerpieces.
The envelope and invitation were brought to fruition by Alli at Birddog Press. The calligraphy was completed by Kelle at Designs Girl. The RSVP cards are vintage postcards of Denver and surrounding Colorado areas that I have been collecting for the past year. I'm in love with the invitation and envelopes! I've already received multiple compliments on Kelle's fabulous calligraphy design- which makes me regret not having her write up our married name in her fancy hand. RSVP accepts/regrets boxes are a big hit- I've already received a cheeky "accepts with regret"
Saturday, August 7, 2010
une autre bouteille du même vin, s’il vous plaît
Our grand tour of Europe is coming together. It's so exciting! I discovered that Sting is going to be playing the Gelredome in Arnhem on the 15th! We missed out on his performance at Red Rocks- which I heard was amazing- so I'm stoked to see him overseas. We had to take the majority of our England time out of the trip (time constraint) so Tom's not going to be able to see his mighty Red Devils in action. Instead we are going to see AJAX (Amsterdam's football club) play on the 16th. Perfect timing- our last day in Amsterdam will be spent watching footie!
I'm super excited to visit Brussels. The city is supposed to have some excellent examples of art nouveau architecture. I heart art nouveau! I was always down to see Brussels but it wasn't on my favorites list- now I'm really excited to experience the city. To be honest I forgot about Belgian beer and chocolate (not to mention waffles)
Stoked!
We booked our houseboat in Amsterdam. It has the cutest bed nook and a great patio on the top with a table and chairs for dining al fresco. It's right in the heart of the historic district. Fun!
After a few challenges with our Paris loft we finally booked one. We're right in the heart of the latin quarter- 2 blocks from the Notre Dame. Paris, Je t'aime. I've been attempting to brush up on my french while at work- I have an audiobook that is rather good- French with Michel Thomas. Hopefully I will be able to effectively stumble my way through conversations. Come on brain remember those high school and college french courses! The most important phrases for us to master are "I would like another glass of wine please" and "How much is the (insert item here)". As long as we can remember those two sentences we should be golden. We have four full days in Paris to visit the museums, cafes, and get a glimpse into the life of a true Parisian. I'm bringing my sketch book. It's been a goal of mine to get back into sketching- I used to draw all of the time. I think Paris will be that perfect motivation. I'm also stoked for the burgundy wine region. We're renting a car so we can explore off the beaten path. Outside of Auxerre there are Roman bath ruins that we would like to find and explore. We want to book a wine tour of local wineries in Beaune. This tour is run by England transplants who take you to 4 local wineries where we can sample the wine (sometimes from the barrel) and learn about the whole process that makes Burgundy world-reowned.
We have exactly one day in London. It's going to be whirlwind tour- Big Ben, London Eye, and Piccadilly Square are a must- that is if we don't get stuck in an English pub (that's a highly likely scenario).
Everyone has been giving us such great advice on where to go and what to see. It's fantastic!
Emily wrote us a list of things to see:
-Bulldog coffee shop in Amsterdam
-Anne Frank house
-Van Gogh museum
-walk the canals
-Red light district
-watch out for the bikes
-Pere Lachaise Cemetary
-Notre Dame
-cool book store on corner by Notre Dame
-N. Paris- sketch-tastic
-Never eat at McDonalds (Tom wants to go so he can order a Royal with cheese)
-Arcd de Triomphe
-eat at restaurant across from the Manneken Pis statue of the little boy peeing
If anyone has favorites that we need to check out in London, Paris, Auxerre, Dijon, Beaune, Rouen, Brussels, and/or Amsterdam let us know. We're looking for some off the beaten path, tried and true places to see and experience.
I'm super excited to visit Brussels. The city is supposed to have some excellent examples of art nouveau architecture. I heart art nouveau! I was always down to see Brussels but it wasn't on my favorites list- now I'm really excited to experience the city. To be honest I forgot about Belgian beer and chocolate (not to mention waffles)
We booked our houseboat in Amsterdam. It has the cutest bed nook and a great patio on the top with a table and chairs for dining al fresco. It's right in the heart of the historic district. Fun!
After a few challenges with our Paris loft we finally booked one. We're right in the heart of the latin quarter- 2 blocks from the Notre Dame. Paris, Je t'aime. I've been attempting to brush up on my french while at work- I have an audiobook that is rather good- French with Michel Thomas. Hopefully I will be able to effectively stumble my way through conversations. Come on brain remember those high school and college french courses! The most important phrases for us to master are "I would like another glass of wine please" and "How much is the (insert item here)". As long as we can remember those two sentences we should be golden. We have four full days in Paris to visit the museums, cafes, and get a glimpse into the life of a true Parisian. I'm bringing my sketch book. It's been a goal of mine to get back into sketching- I used to draw all of the time. I think Paris will be that perfect motivation. I'm also stoked for the burgundy wine region. We're renting a car so we can explore off the beaten path. Outside of Auxerre there are Roman bath ruins that we would like to find and explore. We want to book a wine tour of local wineries in Beaune. This tour is run by England transplants who take you to 4 local wineries where we can sample the wine (sometimes from the barrel) and learn about the whole process that makes Burgundy world-reowned.
We have exactly one day in London. It's going to be whirlwind tour- Big Ben, London Eye, and Piccadilly Square are a must- that is if we don't get stuck in an English pub (that's a highly likely scenario).
Everyone has been giving us such great advice on where to go and what to see. It's fantastic!
Emily wrote us a list of things to see:
-Bulldog coffee shop in Amsterdam
-Anne Frank house
-Van Gogh museum
-walk the canals
-Red light district
-watch out for the bikes
-Pere Lachaise Cemetary
-Notre Dame
-cool book store on corner by Notre Dame
-N. Paris- sketch-tastic
-Never eat at McDonalds (Tom wants to go so he can order a Royal with cheese)
-Arcd de Triomphe
-eat at restaurant across from the Manneken Pis statue of the little boy peeing
If anyone has favorites that we need to check out in London, Paris, Auxerre, Dijon, Beaune, Rouen, Brussels, and/or Amsterdam let us know. We're looking for some off the beaten path, tried and true places to see and experience.
Wednesday, August 4, 2010
57 days...let the countdown begin
We are officially under the 2 month mark! Everything is slowly but surely coming together. Our weekends are now full of wedding appointments. We have our menu tasting on the 14th and all I can say is YUM-O! McCormick and Schmicks is an amazing restaurant. After that we have the bridal shower, final cake design, co-bachelor/bachelorette camping trip, final floral meeting, hair appointment, dress fitting, walk through, rehearsal/rehearsal dinner and then The Big Day! Piece of cake!
Beyond wedding planning life is pretty much status quo. I'm good, Tom's good and the dog's good. We're moving to Denver in January so I can go to grad school. Oddly enough my application for the spring semester is due October 1st. It's time to dust off the drafting table and clean out the rapidograph pens. I'm excited to get back into studio classes. I say that now but come deadline time I'm sure lack of sleep will have me cursing my enthusiasm. Someone once described architecture school as a 4 year sleep deprivation study. Luckily I only have 2 years in the masters program. Who needs sleep for 2 years?! So along with all of the wedding planning I have to complete my application, send for transcripts and spruce up my portfolio. Again, piece of cake. I'm going to keep working part time for Neenan. It's great that they support my decision to go back to school. I'm a lucky girl.
I was thinking the other day about the wedding and if I had the opportunity to do it again- would I do anything differently? I don't think I would. I enjoy everyone we are working with. I found some really great people. I'm happy with the design of the wedding, the venue etc... I know I'm biased but I think it's going to be a really special night.
I just want to take a moment to appreciate Tom. He's been working hard to make the wedding and honeymoon special for us. Poor man has been commuting to Greeley to manage at the Big 5 store. He's such an amazing man and takes good care of me. He's going to make a great hubby!
Oh and before I forget- Julia sent us photos of our engagement session. We had a blast taking them! She did a great job. We posted them to our website to check them out.
Invitations are done and should be in the mail soon. The wonderful Alli @ birddog designs did a great job. So keep an eye out for them in the mail.
***I posted information on all things Denver. Check it out and if you have questions please email or call!
Beyond wedding planning life is pretty much status quo. I'm good, Tom's good and the dog's good. We're moving to Denver in January so I can go to grad school. Oddly enough my application for the spring semester is due October 1st. It's time to dust off the drafting table and clean out the rapidograph pens. I'm excited to get back into studio classes. I say that now but come deadline time I'm sure lack of sleep will have me cursing my enthusiasm. Someone once described architecture school as a 4 year sleep deprivation study. Luckily I only have 2 years in the masters program. Who needs sleep for 2 years?! So along with all of the wedding planning I have to complete my application, send for transcripts and spruce up my portfolio. Again, piece of cake. I'm going to keep working part time for Neenan. It's great that they support my decision to go back to school. I'm a lucky girl.
I was thinking the other day about the wedding and if I had the opportunity to do it again- would I do anything differently? I don't think I would. I enjoy everyone we are working with. I found some really great people. I'm happy with the design of the wedding, the venue etc... I know I'm biased but I think it's going to be a really special night.
I just want to take a moment to appreciate Tom. He's been working hard to make the wedding and honeymoon special for us. Poor man has been commuting to Greeley to manage at the Big 5 store. He's such an amazing man and takes good care of me. He's going to make a great hubby!
Oh and before I forget- Julia sent us photos of our engagement session. We had a blast taking them! She did a great job. We posted them to our website to check them out.
Invitations are done and should be in the mail soon. The wonderful Alli @ birddog designs did a great job. So keep an eye out for them in the mail.
***I posted information on all things Denver. Check it out and if you have questions please email or call!
Everything Denver
Denver hotels:Oxford Hotel - Luxury Boutique Hotel and site for wedding and receptionJet Hotel - is an intimate boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Denver. Hotel has 19 unique and comfortable rooms, a lively bar and Denver's only member's only private night club, Twenty. Westin Tabor Center - is Denver's stop for all-out extravaganceBrown Palace - is the pride of downtown. Every president since Teddy Roosevelt, with the exception of Jimmy Carter, has enjoyed pampering in these posh rooms. Even The Beatles and Elvis Presley slept hereHotel Monaco - is the new kid in town but has quickly carved a niche with the businesses class with impeccable service and homey rooms; it has also developed a reputation as the place for romantic weekend getaways.The Magnolia Hotel - in the restored American Bank Building, offers extended stay visits in one- and two-bedroom suites along spirited 17th Avenue (a.k.a "Wall Street of the Rockies")Marriott City Center - offers affordable luxury and easy access to area attractions
Hotels South of Denver:Inverness Resort - offers an elegant escape from the city and boasts one of the finest golf courses in townMarriott Hyatt Embassy Suites
Hotels North of Denver:Omni Interlocken Resort The Westin Westminster Aloft Broomfield Denver
Any of the hotels north or south of Denver will require additional transportation i.e. car rental, car pooling or public transportation. Tom and I are always happy to make sure everyone is picked up and accounted for. We have room at our place in Fort Collins (1 hour north of Denver) but we're pretty far from all of the action.
If you would like to explore Denver while you are here these are some places I suggest you check out:
-Coors Stadium
-Invesco Stadium
-Denver Zoo
-Denver Art Museum
-Denver Aquarium
-Molly Brown House
-tour Hammonds candy factory
-any of the local breweries. Colorado makes good beer!
-any of the mountain towns. It's going to be gorgeous in the mountains in October- leaves changing and that pine fresh mountain air.
Denver is home to many great restaurants. There are just too many to list so let me know what you're in the mood for and we'll make a suggestion.
The Rockies are playing Wednesday afternoon September 29th. If anyone is interested in going please let me know. I think it would be fun to get a group together and go.
For those of you with kiddos I have names of excellent babysitters if you need them.
Hotels South of Denver:Inverness Resort - offers an elegant escape from the city and boasts one of the finest golf courses in townMarriott Hyatt Embassy Suites
Hotels North of Denver:Omni Interlocken Resort The Westin Westminster Aloft Broomfield Denver
Any of the hotels north or south of Denver will require additional transportation i.e. car rental, car pooling or public transportation. Tom and I are always happy to make sure everyone is picked up and accounted for. We have room at our place in Fort Collins (1 hour north of Denver) but we're pretty far from all of the action.
If you would like to explore Denver while you are here these are some places I suggest you check out:
-Coors Stadium
-Invesco Stadium
-Denver Zoo
-Denver Art Museum
-Denver Aquarium
-Molly Brown House
-tour Hammonds candy factory
-any of the local breweries. Colorado makes good beer!
-any of the mountain towns. It's going to be gorgeous in the mountains in October- leaves changing and that pine fresh mountain air.
Denver is home to many great restaurants. There are just too many to list so let me know what you're in the mood for and we'll make a suggestion.
The Rockies are playing Wednesday afternoon September 29th. If anyone is interested in going please let me know. I think it would be fun to get a group together and go.
For those of you with kiddos I have names of excellent babysitters if you need them.
Wednesday, June 30, 2010
Engagement photos, bad dreams, wedding happenings, and sad news
Engagement photos are coming! We are slated to take them with the fabulous Julia Vandenoever on the 22nd of July. Exciting! Tom and I, as a couple, have never had photos professionally taken (unless you count high school dance pictures
) I read an article on wedding photography that recommends having engagement photos taken by your wedding photographer so you get used to being in front of the lens with that specific person. Hopefully it will help prevent any of those bitter beer in the middle of sneezing all while being attacked by killer bees faces.
In other news...I started having bad dreams about our wedding. In my dream the flowers, photographer, decorations, dress etc.. never make it to the wedding. Oh! and none of you decide to come. The wedding carried on but it was sad
So to allay my fears I need each and every one of you to make sure you're there for the big day (and send back your RSVP cards once I send out invitations) Seriously I need the RSVP cards back- they're important to the aesthetic of the big day. Okay I might be exaggerating but seriously send them back. Don't worry I haven't sent out invitations so RSVPs aren't needed yet.
Besides dreaming about wedding drama the actual planning stages have been relatively drama free. Most of our vendors/suppliers/people that bring the good stuff to the wedding are all cooperating. I finally ordered my dress and it's awesome (my humble opinion). Yes I'm pushing it a little close to THE Day but it should *fingers crossed* make it here by September 9th and that leaves plenty of time for alterations *knock on wood*. I found a gorgeous pair of shoes online for the low, low price of $399. Ladies I appeal to you- is that really too much to pay for the perfect pair of shoes? Well if we want to eat on our honeymoon I'm going to have to give up the spendy shoes. Again I exaggerate but it sounds so much better than "I couldn't stomach paying that much for a pair of Swarovski encrusted strappy sandals that I'll only wear once." If my dad read what I just wrote- he would be so proud of my pragmatism. Note to self: send dad blog link- maybe he'll reward my pragmatism with a new pair of shoes. Kidding. So the search continues but please don't feel sorry for me because shoe shopping is my happy place. Just ask Tom - the poor man is tired of tripping over my happy places. By happy place I mean shoes. Sorry honey, loves you.
One more wedding thing and then I'll stop obsessing for the night- I just have to say kudos to all of the brides that took on multiple diy projects. I diy'd the save the dates and holy cow was that more than I anticipated. Don't get me wrong I had a blast putting them together and many, many thanks to mom and sister for their help. Phew! that was an intense process. So back to those RSVP cards...kidding..no seriously send them back. I'm probably totally confusing everyone by trying to be funny. My bad. Invites and rsvps haven't gone out so no worries...yet.
Sad news- Aleida, a good family friend, was in a car accident a few weeks ago. From what I understand she's up and down. I need to get an update from Tom's mom but please keep her in your thoughts and send well wishes her way. She's quite an extraordinary lady and we want her to be with us for a lot longer!
I asked Tom if he wanted to add anything to the blog...Tom says "he hates blogs...lol" In other words you are stuck with me as the narrator of our wedding journey. Tom's officially my editor/"it sounds good" guy. Any complaints should be directed to the editor
In other news...I started having bad dreams about our wedding. In my dream the flowers, photographer, decorations, dress etc.. never make it to the wedding. Oh! and none of you decide to come. The wedding carried on but it was sad
Besides dreaming about wedding drama the actual planning stages have been relatively drama free. Most of our vendors/suppliers/people that bring the good stuff to the wedding are all cooperating. I finally ordered my dress and it's awesome (my humble opinion). Yes I'm pushing it a little close to THE Day but it should *fingers crossed* make it here by September 9th and that leaves plenty of time for alterations *knock on wood*. I found a gorgeous pair of shoes online for the low, low price of $399. Ladies I appeal to you- is that really too much to pay for the perfect pair of shoes? Well if we want to eat on our honeymoon I'm going to have to give up the spendy shoes. Again I exaggerate but it sounds so much better than "I couldn't stomach paying that much for a pair of Swarovski encrusted strappy sandals that I'll only wear once." If my dad read what I just wrote- he would be so proud of my pragmatism. Note to self: send dad blog link- maybe he'll reward my pragmatism with a new pair of shoes. Kidding. So the search continues but please don't feel sorry for me because shoe shopping is my happy place. Just ask Tom - the poor man is tired of tripping over my happy places. By happy place I mean shoes. Sorry honey, loves you.
One more wedding thing and then I'll stop obsessing for the night- I just have to say kudos to all of the brides that took on multiple diy projects. I diy'd the save the dates and holy cow was that more than I anticipated. Don't get me wrong I had a blast putting them together and many, many thanks to mom and sister for their help. Phew! that was an intense process. So back to those RSVP cards...kidding..no seriously send them back. I'm probably totally confusing everyone by trying to be funny. My bad. Invites and rsvps haven't gone out so no worries...yet.
Sad news- Aleida, a good family friend, was in a car accident a few weeks ago. From what I understand she's up and down. I need to get an update from Tom's mom but please keep her in your thoughts and send well wishes her way. She's quite an extraordinary lady and we want her to be with us for a lot longer!
I asked Tom if he wanted to add anything to the blog...Tom says "he hates blogs...lol" In other words you are stuck with me as the narrator of our wedding journey. Tom's officially my editor/"it sounds good" guy. Any complaints should be directed to the editor
Monday, June 14, 2010
Hello
Hi,
I'm new to this whole blog experience so bear with me. I apologize in advance because I have an obsession with ellipsis... and my grammar is not my strong suit. I want this blog to function as a source of wedding information that won't fit on the website. If you have anything you need me to post let me know. I hope to have hotel information and local attractions posted soon.
Cheers
Susie
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)